Novogrudok – Lavryshevo – Gnesichi – Motcha
The village got its name from the word “Lavra”, since here for a long time was the famous Orthodox monastery – one of the religious and cultural centers of Belarus, where the chronicles were kept, educational institutions worked, history was created and miracles happened …
Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
It was built in 1756 from a tree in the form of a ship as a temple of the Lavrishevsky Monastery. Near the church in 1775-1780, a bell tower, a residential building, a small stone building, in which there was a library and a warehouse. The library numbered about 500 volumes.
After the abolition of the monastery in 1836, the monastery church was converted into a parish church. From 1904 to 1914, the rector of the church was the priest-martyr Sergius (Rodakovskii)
St. Eliseevsky Lavrishivsky Monastery
Lavrushevsky Monastery is one of the oldest monasteries in Belarus. According to the church legend, it was founded by the son of the Lithuanian prince Troynat, the Monk Elisei Lavrishevsky, around 1225 in the bend on the left bank of the Neman River at the foot of the high mountain.
Over time, the monastery, having gathered a large number of brethren, became a laurel, in which the Monk Elisha was the first abbot. On the night of October 23 / November 5, around 1250, the Monk Elisha was killed by his servant youth who committed this deed, being in a state of darkness from the devil. The assassin himself was healed of being raped through an accidental touch to the relics of a saint.
Official site of the Lavrushevsky Monastery http://lavra.by
The miraculous spring, the village of Motcha, was consecrated in honor of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker.
Once upon a time in this towering wooded mountain, according to legend, there was an Orthodox church. In godless times it was destroyed, but from the mountain since then began to beat a clean crystal spring.
God wanted to mark this place with special grace. The time passed, and here, thanks to the efforts of the Novogrudok deanery, a font was built, the place was ennobled, the Cross was erected at the very source.
November 2, 2008, His Eminence Archbishop Novogrudsky and Lida Guriy, the source was consecrated in honor of St. Nicholas – an early helper and miracle worker.
Since then, the source has become a place where a person can by faith and by the grace of God receive spiritual and bodily healing.