Novogrudok – Valevka – Lake Svityaz – Shchorsy – Lubcha – Lake Litovka
The rich past of Novogrudok has been brilliantly reflected in the poetry of its famous native Adam Mitskewich. Excursion to the memorable places of the poet, among which there is Lake Svityaz, where he created his ballads and Lake Litovka, where he brought his heroes from the poem “Grazhina”.
Excursion-animation “Along the Paths of Adam Mitskewich” is an amazing opportunity to traverse the paths of the famous poet on Novogrudok, namely:
– Visit the house-museum of Adam Mitskiewich and immerse yourself in the atmosphere of life of the Belarusian gentry of the late 18th century;
– listen to the verses and music of the Mickiewich era;
– see the ancient Novogrudok and get acquainted with the various monuments of Novogrudok, which are reflected in the poetry of Mitskiewich (Lubcha, Shchorsy, Lake Litovka);
– to receive as a gift ” Svityaznyka’s shoe” – a traditional souvenir made by the best masters of Novogrudok land, and participate in a master class of making it if you wish;
– participate in a picnic on Lake Svityaz which is one of the most romantic places in Belarus.
Throughout the tour you will be accompanied by experienced certified guides.
The route (120 km.): Novogrudok – Lake. Svityaz – Shchorsy – Lyubcha – Lake. Lithuanian
The basic price includes:
– excursion support on the whole route;
– admission tickets to the House-Museum of Adam Mickiewicz and the People’s Museum of History and Local Lubchansk region;
– Literary and musical composition of the Novogrudok School of Arts;
– a souvenir for memory.
At extra charge:
– organization of a master class at the Crafts Center;
– Organization of a picnic on the lake. Svityaz;
The village of Valevka is on the way to the Svityaz. It is one of the largest rural settlements of the region. In the vicinity of it, a parking lot of the Mesolithic era was discovered. In secondary school there is an interesting local history museum, where a number of rare documents are collected and where you can learn about the history of the region and its people. In the village there is an Orthodox Peter and Paul Church (until 1830 – a church). In the temple there are several ancient icons, and the two-tier wooden iconostasis is decorated with carvings with gilding.
Near Valevka there is a mountain Radogoshcha. An ancient settlement, dating back to the early Iron Age and the era of Kievan Rus, rises 20 meters above the river Neuveda. Until 1939. nearby was the manor of Chomber – the birthplace of Adam Mickiewicz’s mother. A chapel of the last owners Karpovichi has survived.
Lake Svityaz is located 22 km south of Novogrudok. It is surrounded by an ancient dense forest and is a unique corner of Belarus.
The Svitiaz Landscape Reserve is located in the lake. Scientists have found about thirty different types of forest near the lake.
The lake itself is clean – you can see the smallest stones on the bottom. Here there are rare plants. Tetradinium jawaicum grows only in Java and Indonesia, the coastal lake (Litorellf lacustris) and the lake half-lake (Izoetes lacustris) occurs in the lakes of Poland. But the most important of the plants is water lobelia (Lobelia dortmani). Adam Mitskiewich, who sang them in the ballad “Svityaz”, saw the white flowers above the surface of the water. And how not to believe the legend of his appearance, told in a poetic form by Adam Mitskiewich? Svityaz was once a mighty and beautiful city, owned by Prince Tugan. One day a messenger came from Mindovg and called for help to besieged Novogrudok. The squad left, leaving only women, children and the elderly. And at night, enemy troops came here. The besieged inhabitants of Svityaz understood that the gates of the city would soon collapse. They set fire to the house, preferring death to captivity. And suddenly they felt that the ground was running out from under your feet. On the site of the city appeared a lake, and the inhabitants turned into flowers. When the enemies touched them, they immediately died. So the inhabitants of Svityaz preferred death to captivity.
The beauty of the lake all year round attracts Novogrudok and tourists, who have a place to stay – in a picturesque area there has been built a boarding house and numerous cottages.
Shchorsy are known as the former possession of the Khreptovichi. The subchancler of the GDL Count Iochim Litavor Chreptovich in 1770-1776 built here a stone palace on the project of Italian architects J.Sakko and K.Spampani, which became the center of the whole manor and park ensemble. Later the wing was added. Around the palace complex there is a landscape park of approx. 40 hectares with a system of artificial lakes. In the estate was located the richest library, which numbered in the middle of the ХХ century about 20 thousand books in different languages, ancient manuscripts, geographical maps. Archive. Here at different time famous scientists and writers worked: I. Lelevel, I. Danilovich, M. Pochobut-Adlyanitsky, A. Mitskiewich, J. Chechet, V.Syrokomlya.
In 1914 the part of the library was transferred to the University of Kiev by the heirs of I. Khreptovich, a lot was burned in the First World War. In this war, the central and eastern buildings of the palace were seriously destroyed and by now only the foundations have remained of them. The building of the library was preserved. At the end of the XX century at the entrance of the estate, industrial enterprises and economic buildings were built. In Shchorsy there is an Orthodox Dmitrievskaya church.
Lubcha Castle is one of the last monuments of traditional castle building in Belarus. Its construction began in 1581, and finished in the beginning of the XVII century. The walls of the castle were erected on the high bank of the Neman. On three sides it was surrounded by a moat width of up to 30 m, and depth up to 7-10 m. Massive three-tiered towers are similar to the towers of Mir Castle. There was a wooden palace on the castle place, and later a stone palace.
Since 1574г. Lubcha belonged to Jan Kishka, a protestant believer who founded the Protestant cathedral here. After the death of Y. Kishka, the possessions were transferred to the Radziwills. The cathedral became Calvinist, where in the first half of the XVII century, operated the largest printing house in Belarus, which published about 100 publications. In these editions, new forms of design were used, incl. engraving on copper.
Now Lubcha is an urban village, although several decades since 1939 it was the center of Lubcha district. There is a polyclinic, a precinct hospital, a cinema, industrial enterprises. Nearby there is the river Neman.
In the secondary school you can visit an interesting museum Local History Museum of Lubcha area.
A few kilometers from Novogrudok there is a small lake, which is known all over the world thanks to the poem of Adam Mitskiewich “Grazhyna”. In the image of Grazhina, women’s beauty and courage of the patriot have united. The subject of the poem was a local legend. Novogrudok prince Litavor, due to circumstances, was inclined to a disgraceful alliance with the enemies of Novogrudok – the Teutonic Knights. He rejects the exhortations of Rymwyd’s friend, disagrees with the shameful world, and he turns to the wife of Litavor Princess Grazhina. Unfortunately, the prince does not listen to the persuasion of his wife. Then secretly from him Grazhina, in a helmet and therefore unrecognizable, leads the army to the lake towards the Teutons. In the battle, she was mortally wounded and died. At this time, the prince stops doubting and rushes into the battle to help the unknown knight. Novogrudok won. But what was the astonishment and grief of Litavor when opening the visor of the knight, he saw his wife … In honor of a feat Grazyna that lake was named”Litovka” .
Organizer – KUP “Novogrudok-Tour”
Address: Novogrudok, 4 Lenin Square,
Tel./Fax: (801597) 2-22-57
Working hours: 9.00 – 18.00